Did you know that you are already a member of the student body? On this page we will show you how all the different organs of the university work together and who does what. On this page we will show you how all the different organs of the university work together and who does what.




Outside the faculties, within the entire university

within the university

Rector’s Council
The Rectorate consists of the Rector, the
vice-chancellor and the chancellor, whose task
is the management of the entire university.


The Senate decides in matters of research, teaching, studies and further education, unless these are assigned by law to another central body. The Senate consists of the Rector, the Vice-Rectors, the Chancellor, the Deans and the Equal Opportunities Officer as well as six professors, two scientific and two other employees and four students. The student senate members are also members of the student parliament. They coordinate their topics with StuPa and AStA.


University Council
In addition to the Rectorate and the Senate, the University Council was introduced as the third organ of the university. The University Council is an advisory, planning and controlling body. It consists of nine external members. His most important tasks include decisions on the structural and development planning of the Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences and monitoring the management of the Rectorate.


Student Parliament
The student parliament (StuPa) discusses and decides on all fundamental matters of the student body, it is our legislative body. It currently consists 16 members and is elected by all students as their representative. The four student senate members are also members of the StuPa.

The Dean’s Office is authorized to give instructions to assistants, employees and professors within the faculty.


Faculty Council
The faculty council (FAR) consists of the dean’s office by virtue of office and by election of professors, research assistants, other employees and students. The number of group members is divided into large and small faculty councils:
The large FR (MMT, IMM, EIT, IWI, W) has seven students, two research assistants, one or two other employees and all professors. In the small FR (AB) there are five students, one research assistant, one other employee and nine professors. It advises in all matters of fundamental importance to the faculty and comments on appointment proposals. Usually the student members are also active in their respective student body.


The composed student body
Since 2014 the student body as
representation of the students’ interests is no longer
part of the university, but an independent
corporation under public law
(KöR) with the corresponding rights and


Student Council Conference
The Fachschaftenkonferenz (FSK) consists of
representatives of each student council and coordinates
joint activities of all student bodies.
It usually meets twice
a semester.


General student committee
The general student committee
(AStA) represents the student body and
carriesout the decisions of the student
parliament. Its members are appointed
by the StuPa for specific tasks.
It consists of the Chairman, second chairmanship and
speakers for specific tasks like
finance, culture or social affairs.




The Fachschaft (FS) first of all refers to the students of a faculty, accordingly there are six of them. Colloquially, this usually refers to the active student body, i.e. students who work for others in the department.

As a rule, the advice of the student council is also gladly accepted by the dean. The organization within a student council is left to its own devices.

The active student council can often help you with study-related questions, as it consists of students from different semesters who often had the same problems you are facing.

It conducts introductory events for first-year students (“O-phase”), often manages collections of old exams and their solutions, and occasionally organizes other events such as lectures and of course student council parties.

Student Council EIT
Electric- /
Information Technology

Session: Wednesday, 11.30 am
Room: Building M, Room 305
Tel: 0721 925-1448

Instagram: @fachschaft_eit_hska

Student body W

Meeting: Tuesday, 07.00 pm
in room K0022
Room: Building K, Room 012
Tel: 0721 925-1971

Instagram: @fachschaftw

Student Council IMM
Information management and media

Session: once a month
Wednesday, 11.30 am
Regulars’ table: Monday, 06.00 pm
Room: Building AM, Room 305
Tel: 0721/925-1133

Instagram: @fachschaft.imm.hska

Student Council IWI
Informatics/ Media Informatics/ Business Informatics/ International IT Business/ Data Science

Session: Wednesday 11:30am
Room: Building E, Room 013
Tel: 0721 925-2949

Instagram: @iwi_fachschaft

Student body AB
Architecture / Construction Operations / Civil Engineering / Construction Management

Meeting: Tuesday, 05:15 pm
14 days and after posting
Room: Building B, Room 205
Tel: 0721 925-1448

Instagram: @fachschaftab

Student Council MMT
Mechanical engineering/ mechatronics/ automotive technology

Session: Notice FS-Showcase
Room: Building M, Room 014
Tel: 0721 / 925-1806

Room: Building F, Room 010
Tel: 0721 / 925-1666
Instagram: @fachschaft_mmt_hska